Pair of Monroe wrestlers win Conference 28 titles

William Monroe’s wrestling squad finished fifth in a challenging Conference 28 wrestling tournament, but several individuals had big time days for the Dragons, including a pair of title winners.

Kyle Biesecker, a Bull Run District champion, won the title at 145 pounds winning a 4-2 decision over Garrett Maddox of Skyline. Biesecker beat John Champe’s Pedram Samipour in the semifinals with a 12-1 major decision.

Mark Sizemore won the title at 182 pounds, pinning Warren County’s Eric Sadler in the semifinals before winning an 8-5 decision in the championship bout over Central Woodstock’s Jacob Ingham.

In the 113-pound class, Patrick Gehman takes second behind Warren County’s Tyler Barisciano, falling 16-1 on a technical fall four minutes into the championship bout. Gehman beat Central Woodstock’s Colton LeCraw in the semis on a tech fall of his own.

Josh Savoie, the Bull Run champion in his weight class, finished second at 195 pounds for the Dragons. He fell 12-7 in the title bout to Loudoun Valley’s Michael Cypher.

W.J. Lamb finished second at 285 pounds, falling to Loudoun Valley’s Sid Byers in the title bout after winning a 4-1 decision over John Champe’s Matt Hunt in the semifinals.

Daniel Gilliam took fourth at 132 pounds, Bryan Menjivar finished fourth at 160 pounds. Chris Thomas finished third at 220 pounds.

All eight Monroe wrestlers that finished in the top four advance to the Region 3A East championship.