Trio of locals earn All-State volleyball honors

A trio of local volleyball standouts earned All-State Group AA honors from the Virginia High School Coaches Association over the weekend. Here’s the list:

Player of the year

Morgan Shannon, Cave Spring

Coach of the year
Tamalyn Tanis, Cave Spring

First team

Morgan Shannon, Cave Spring, Sr.
Michelle Heath, Rustubrg, Sr.
Briana Sutton Jamestown Jr.
Jenna Strange, Loudoun County, Sr.
Monique Stcyr, Jamestown, So.
Shannon Craighead, Cave Spring, Sr.
Gabby Serafin, Loudoun County, Sr.
Stephanie Yokoyama, Heritage, Sr.
Sarah Patterson, Hidden Valley, Sr.

Second Team

Katrina Kirby, Loudoun County, Sr.
Caroline Boone, Hidden Valley, Jr.
Katie Rossberg, Western Albemarle Sr.
Riley Martin, Western Albemarle Sr.

Allie Reynolds, Chancellor, Sr.
Aubrey Blanchette, E.C. Glass, Sr.
Karley Allen, New Kent, Jr.
Hannah Helbert, Patrick County, Jr.

Locals on Honorable Menion
Hannah Miller, Fluvanna County, Jr.